The Encounter 

   Do you ever feel like you’re not good enough, not perfect enough, you don’t fit in, you have a horrible past? Well hey, You’re not alone. You’re far from being alone!!

      I had a friend one time, who was as “in the world” as could be, I mean she was so addicted to drugs and alcohol and everything wrong. All through our college years she was always in detention and facing expulsion for being caught with some sort of narcotics or some act of indecency. I was opportuned to bump into this girl a while back and she was changed, and I mean she was a deep devoted Christian, so I asked her what happened, why the sudden interest in religion, you knew about God all this while but never followed him, why now? Her reply was remarkable.

   She said, I had what you call “an encounter”, it was very brief and in that encounter “something said to me” it’s time!! She went on to narrate to me that she really didn’t understand the encounter but this wasn’t your average “I was dreaming and something said” story you hear all the time, this was real, I was conscious of it, it wasn’t supernatural, it was very natural and I knew it was a divine utterance. 

   But how would you know a divine utterance if you never really knew God I asked, and she told me “i knew about God, everyone does but they’re often too depressed, too sunk in and too uninterested to believe in him, but when it’s your time believe me it’s your time.

  You see, God has a plan for everyone of us, we are not just existing in an eternal bliss of nothingness, living by chance, we are all characters in a play God is orchestrating, we all play significant roles.

   Now i want you to imaging a scenerio, if you were a hard core, big time Alcoholic and people are trying to get you to stop drinking and mr A comes and gives you reasons why you shouldn’t drink, how its bad for your health and what it might result you to doing (but bare in mind that Mr A has never really been a drinker before, so he has no idea what it feels like to combat the addiction). Then Mr B comes along and gives you the same advice but is also able to relate he’s own personal experience to you and also give you pointers to how he combated his own addiction. Tell me, who are you prone to listen to more? Yes! Mr B, because he knows exactly how you really feel, he’s been in those shoes before so he trully understands and won’t judge you.

  God puts us through certain situations, experiences and battles because he has a bigger plan for us, he wants us to use our scars to draw people out of their battles. Nothing happens by chance, don’t look back at your past and ask God why? Look up to him and ask what next? There is a plan for everybody, God has a plan for all of us and its to take us to Great heights, don’t believe me? Let’s scoot over to Jeremiah 29:11 it says “for I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, they are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and hope”. God doesnt lie, he’s infinite, he knows all things, that past of yours making you feel bad about yourself is exactly what you need to get to the next phase in life, you should wear it like a crown, you are perfectly imperfect.

  We all know Nick Vujicic (hope I spelt that correctly), the man who has absolutely no limbs! Notice how some of you didn’t recognise who Nick was until I said he’s the man with no limbs? well now he’s one of the most accomplished writers of all time and amongst the top inspirational speakers this generation has ever seen, I read in one of he’s books where he said “as a child growing up, I hated my life, I hated myself and I felt death might be preferable, he was tagged an alien in school and barely had any friends, life was tough he stated. But now he’s story has turned around, and he can’t but imagine how he’s life would’ve unfolded if he had complete body parts “I’ll probably have a regular life” and you won’t be reading my books because I’m  just another regular person. P.s he’s wife just had a set of beautiful, perfectly normal girls.

       My ideal is this, different people require different mediums for conviction, certain people only take advise from people who have been through their ordeal before, So if that’s the case that simply means “I have my own audience and you have yours ….right? 

I play basketball alot, I really love basketball and I’ve been telling whoever cares to listen that if the person who converted me to a believer was a basketball player or my coach, i would have listened more because they are like me. And all the coach has to say is Desmond!! If you don’t give your life to Christ you’ll be sitting on the bench all season and I’ll be like SIR YES SIR!! God here is my life, its all yours. 

     What I’m trying to say is, don’t be sad when you think about what you’ve been through, have no regrets because everything was allowed by God, so long as you believe in him he’ll surely heal you, he cannot loose and therefore you can’t either and never forget three important facts in life; you are a crucial piece in God’s giant puzzle, Earth is not your final Destination (heaven is) and you are not defined by your mistakes. 

P.s Join the mahdheebah blog forum to talk about issues, worries, ideas, lectures and also share articles, blog posts and much more tmb whatsapp community 

  God loves you and so do I ☺

15 thoughts on “The Encounter 

  1. I love the realness in this. Too many times we lose ‘the encounter’ because we are too distracted with life and all it has thrown at us instead of seeing that all that dirt ought to be a stepping stone to be more and do more.

    I smiled when I read the analogy you gave because a lot of ‘religious’ may disagree. Gaining knowledge from books is fine, evangelising by just preaching what Paul said is fine but how can this people relate your life to everything you’re saying.

    You didn’t go through all that for yourself but for others and our experiences may not be peculiar to us but what changes the narrative is what we do with the mess. Do you turn it around or you stay there?

    We are never alone.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Yess, this wasn’t just you who spoke, there is a higher power within you waiting to be heared, you are absolutely correct☺☺, all the mess isnt for ourselves, there’s a higher purpose for it, its for others to learn from

      Liked by 1 person

    1. 😊😊😊 I’m soo happy to hear that and I’m even happier it spoke to you on a personal level. I guess thats just God trying to reach out to you and he used me as a medium to do so. You are not alone Lena, God really loves you☺☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment