The Toothpaste Story

Uncle’Zook told us a story about his daughter who was to start middle school tomorrow, A lot of mixed feelings involved now, but no tears yet. We have decorated her locker, bought new uniforms, even surprised her with a brand new Wonder woman backpack (and you know what that does to a young girl). However, tonight just before bed, we do the most important pre-middle school task. I hold out a tube of her favourite toothpaste to her and she grabs it, thinking this is her one golden opportunity to lick toothpaste legally, Her face falls a little when I hand her a medium sized dish and ask her to squirt some toothpaste onto it. The moment she squirts to her heart’s satisfaction, I calmly asked her to put the toothpaste all back in the tube, She begins making dragging noises with her throat, amidst clearly saying, “But I can’t!”and ” it won’t be like it was before! “.

I quietly wait for her to finish and then say this:” You will remember this dish for the rest of your life cupcake. Your words have the power of life and death imbedded in them. As you go into middle school tomorrow, you are about to see just how much weight your words carry, You are going to have the opportunity to use your words to hurt, demean, slander and inflict pain on others. You’re also going to have the opportunity to heal, encourage, inspire and love others. You will occasionally make wrong choices, and it certainly matters how you handle the situation verbally. Remember when I said something really bad to your mummy the other day and she was sad all day baby?”. She gives a tight lipped nod accompanied with her famous evil look. I smile and continue, ” I caused her so much pain. Just like the toothpaste on this dish, once its out, there’s no going back on it, It can never be erased from the sands of time. Use your words carefully princess. When others want to be a careless about what they say, guard your words. Don’t forget you’re my special one. Decide tonight that you’re going to be a life-giver in middle school. Whatever happens, you’re my baby girl and I’m super proud of who you are and what you’re becoming”.

That was one hell of a story, wasn’t it? We have the opportunity to learn alongside my uncles daughter, a lesson no one considers is important to lay emphasis on. It took me making at least three bad word choices this week to the people who matter to me to get to this understanding and I thought to share (because that’s one of the reasons we are a blog). Let’s be the description of gentleness and compassion. Giving life to a world that so desperately needs it in words first. Like we genuinely always say at the mahdheebah brand: live☺, love❤ and laugh😀.

Yours Amazing,

Desmond for TMB

10 thoughts on “The Toothpaste Story

Leave a comment